A Dry Autumn and Salted Hickory Nuts

It’s still incredibly dry around here.  We had a teasing of rain last week and there’s a small percentage of more tomorrow.  We need it.  The earth is dry and cracked, the grass is brown and many species of trees are dropping their leaves about four weeks too early.  When they fall the leave are brown and curled, dehydrated.  It’s not a good sign.

To be honest, I’m amazed we’ve not been put under water restrictions.  I believe it’s been about 80 days since we had substantial rainfall.  The local retention pond is getting lower and lower.  The nearby reservoir is the lowest I’ve ever seen it.

Been a bit busy over the past few days and have been unable to get out and make a vid.  I’ve also been fighting the heightened allergy ratings around here.  Fought off a sinus infection late last week and just now seeing a return to normal energy.   Without more rain to knock the allergens down, it’s taking it’s toll everywhere.

Last night, I worked on hulling the last of the hickory nuts from the video I put up.  I tried something new and since it worked I thought I’d share it here.

Salted Hickory Nuts

Right after getting the nut meat, I set the oven for 180 or so.  While waiting for that to preheat, I took an average bowl of warm water and added a few teaspoons of salt into it.  Stirringso it dissolved, I then dumped the hickory nuts into it for about three to five minutes

Then, I took the nuts out of the water,  shook off the excess water and laid them on a cookie sheet.  I then baked them in the oven for about a half hour.  (I went a little longer with this group because a lot of the nuts were very fresh from the hulling.)

Once done, you get a nice, light salty taste to the nut!  After forcing myself to eat them warm and right off the cookie sheet, I let them cool and put the rest in the my glass container in the refrigerator.  Yeah, forcing myself.  That’s it.  The same way I “force myself” to eat chocolate chip cookies…

I know, it’s not necessarily a “survival” recipe but it’s darn tasty for a home snack!  Besides, you could also throw them in a zip-lock bag  and toss that into a backpack!

Posted on September 14, 2010, in Learning, Life, Nature. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

