King of The Branch

** Post-edit – Thanks to a comment I was quickly instructed that the birds in these photos are actually Red-Bellied Woodpeckers.   Not sure what I was thinking except that maybe I wasn’t! **

This is definitely one of those times where my camera is simply used to record experiences in the field and not for printable, hang on the wall, artwork.  I decided to put up a few more pics of the zany downy woodpecker gathering I saw and mentioned last week.

The woodpeckers, around five in all, were completely fixated on this one stump of  a branch.  One would lay claim to it, another would challenge, they both would fly off in different directions and then the whole thing would cycle over again with another bird.  It was like they were playing King of The Branch.  They were doing this for hours.  I first saw them at lunch.  During an afternoon break they were still at it and when I got into my car to leave for the day I could still hear them in the treeline.

And, as you can see, these images are pushed like mad in post processing.  The day was gray and overcast.  I was shooting into a shadowy treeline and trying to get enough shutter speed to capture what was going on.  I knew at the time I wouldn’t be able to hang these on any wall.  Instead of shrugging and giving up I went ahead and shot away.  I’m now glad I did because it gives me a good record of the experience and possibly some reference material for sketches down the way.   Added bonus?  I get to share it on my blog.

And finally, speaking of added bonuses, a little game.

It’s not the best game ever but it might distract you for a few seconds.  Below you’ll see a picture of a tree.  Within that tree is a mockingbird.  Can you spot it?

Ok, maybe that was too easy?

More Spring to come!

Posted on March 16, 2010, in Birding. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Bryan,
    Nice shots of woodpecker behavior. These are actually Red-bellied Woodpeckers though, not Downy.
    Nice blog.

  2. Mike – Thanks for the compliments! Oh my. Looking back I’m not really sure why I thought these were downy woodpeckers. *hangs head in shame* I really should have known better. Lesson learned there!

Leave a Reply

