Winter Bluebird

On my weekly lunch walks at a nearby park I recently had the opportunity of watching a small flock of bluebirds work over fruit from a sumac tree.  Either they were abnormally hungry or more used to human presence since they allowed me to get quite close.

I remember seeing bluebirds for the first time as a child and being amazed at the brilliance of their blue.  In my child-like wisdom, I considered them a sign of good luck.  At that time, about 30 years ago, they were endangered.  I’ve learned since they were down nearly 70-75% in some areas of the country.  However, due to an aggressive nesting box and trail program by several Bluebird societies like The North American Bluebird Society, I see them nearly weekly.  Like Swallows and Martins, Bluebirds are also important with insect control eating all manner of them, including wasps and mosquito.

** Postscript 2/27/10 – I had written this post last weekend and scheduled it to post yesterday.  My last surviving grandparent, my grandmother, passed away on Thursday evening, the day before this post went live.    During a family gathering last night at my late grandmother’s home I noticed she had several small statuettes of birds, including bluebirds, around the place.  When I asked about them I was told by a relative that Grandma liked bluebirds and hummingbirds.  The property she and her husband owned near Lake Monroe reservoir as a family get-away was where I saw some of my first bluebirds as a child.   I remembered this post when I saw Cynthia’s reply notification pop up in my email.

It’s funny how these things work out sometimes, isn’t it?

Posted on February 26, 2010, in Birding, Nature. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the blog! I remember seeing a family of bluebirds at the look out of Julia Pffeifer Park in Big Sur. I’d never seen them before or since. Are they migratory? I went back there and they weren’t there.

  2. From what I understand, Eastern Bluebirds typically stay put except some might drift down from the most northern states in the winter. I know they stay here in Indiana year round.

    Glad you enjoy the blog!

Leave a Reply

