Signature GeoToken 2008

One of the things you can do in geocaching is to make what is called a signature token.  These take all sorts of forms, from wooden nickels to laminated cards , stickers, buttons, and sculpey sculptures. Whenever you find a cache, you can drop that item into it as a way of saying, “I was here.”  A side hobby within geocaching is to collect these tokens.

Another item in the geocaching arena is something called a geocoin.  Geocoins are metal and specially minted with tracking numbers whic are then used on the Geocache.com website.  When you find a geocoin you go to the site, punch in the tracking number, and it will log where that particular coin as been, who has carried it,  and the miles traveled.  Like tokens, there is another whole group of folks that buy, sell, and trade geocoins.

I wanted to do something between the two and didn’t have the money to put toward having my own coin minted.   I decided to grab some sculpey and figure out how to make my own.  ( I had originally thought of grabbing some of my wife’s porcelain from her ceramic supplies but was scared off  by the reminder I would need a kiln.  It might also have something to do with the sharp implements she threatened me with… )

The result was my signature token for 2008.   As I went around to various caches dropping these off, I  wanted some way to track them.  Funny it wasn’t until I was finishing up the artwork for my 2009 token that I was struck with the idea of how it could happen with little fuss.   It was one of those “ah-HAH!” moments where you feel simultanously brilliant that you came up with it and thick-headed because you didn’t think of it before.  In essence, the tracking mechanism is this page.  You’re reading it!

With the last of the 2008 tokens and on my geocache profile, I’ve written up instructions for how finders can come to this particular page and leave their comments below.  I want to hear where you found the token and any stories that might surround the cache you found it in!  Post them below.

Description:   It’s about the size of a half-dollar and made with a mold I handcarved.  The front is a symbol of a howling coyote in front of a crescent moon.  Three stars surround the coyote which represent my kids as well as the latin words which wouldn’t fit on the coin; Rideo, Venatio, and Fortuna.  I’m pretty sure they mean “Laughter, To hunt, and Luck.”  On the back is my geocaching name, the year, and a circle quartered by the four sacred directions.

token001

I don’t expect a lot of folks to post here with a token as there are, right now, only a handful of them left for me to get spread out.  Regardless, this is the spot and, if nothing else, a warm-up for the 2009 signature token page which I hope to have up by the end of the week.

I’ll also be putting up a small tutorial as to how I make these for anyone that wants to share in the fun either with geocache tokens or just making sculpey coins.  When I get that done, I’ll post a sister link here as well.

On with the hunt!

Posted on May 17, 2009, in geocaching, Tokens 2008. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. *hug*
    I like the coins. They’re pretty. They’re rough. They’re you.

  2. I found one in the Monolith Merger geocache. It was my fourth attempt to find that cache. Those caches along the Jordan “River” have been a curse for me for a while, but I finally think I’ve broken free. After hanging over the water almost upside-down from the roots of a tree, shining a flashlight into the crevices underneath, I finally thought to widen my search far enough to search elsewhere and find the cache. Thought this was a geocoin at first. Never found one of those before, so I snatched it up eagerly. When I realized otherwise, I kinda felt bad for not leaving an exchange. (I might go back and replace it or bring a delayed trade.) While I was looking for how to log it, I followed your profile to your blog and searched for “coin” to get here (no note with this one). I’m not quite sure what the etiquette is for signature tokens. Do you want this to move to another cache? Do you want it to stay? Are people supposed to keep them as prizes?

  3. ErWenn,

    You can do whatever you would like with it! Keep it, send it on, trade it, whatever you would like. I send them out with no expectations! (If you do send them on do you mind maybe adding a note in the baggie that sends them to this site?)

    Thanks for going to the trouble to follow the link in my signature and posting! Gave me a big smile!!!

  4. I found your token in the Tree Rings cache near the bell tower of Indiana University. It was a little mildewy-smelling (the cache’s fault).
    I am 9 years old and from Ottawa, Canada and I am studying violin at the summer string academy at Indiana University. It is a nice token and creative.
    Trouvadourkid

  5. Bryan Roberts

    Trouvadourkid,

    Thanks for posting and how great is Indiana University’s music program?? Welcome!!! And thanks for posting the find!

    You know, I had not thought about the mildew problem. I figured the ziplock would handle that. I was going to say wash it but there is some water-soluble paint on it (underneath the sealer layer I put on it) so don’t get it too wet. I bet if you leave it in the sun for a bit, that should kill the mildew.

    Have a fantastic summer!

  6. I found one of your tokens today in “another pile of rocks” here in bloomington. Its a great idea to create your own little trackable. I thought long about just keeping it here in my small stach of its to cool not to keep trades, but have decided that you deserve the fun of having your token spead out a bit. I am going north to amish country tomorrow and think i will take this with me…

  7. I like it 🙂

    very cute

  8. Hi coyoteguy:
    I think I goofed here. I found your coin SOMEWHERE on a 10,000 mile RV trip around the US. We found a few caches in northern Indiana so it could have been there but I’m not sure. Right now it’s in Oregon where I will drop it in a cache here one of these days. I’ll note on the back of the sheet where and when. Perhaps this will have it’s own little geocoin travel history if subsequent finders do the same.

  9. Bryan Roberts

    21030 – Another great idea! Fantastic! I’m guessing if you didn’t come down Bloomington, IN way then it must have migrated upstate to where you found it.
    Casey – Thanks!
    Mourningstar – Thanks! I have a few 2008 tokens left and if you want one to keep let me know. I’ll mail you one.

  10. Went to the Keizer Iris Fevital and had fun at the geo event! Found your coin at the School House hide. Good work. Look forward to finding the next one of yours.

  11. Picked a token up at “Superior View”. Thanks for placing these, they’re a fun alternative. Leaving to go do “The Journal” in Peoria, but I’ve bookmarked your blog to read when we return.

  12. We found your token at Detweiller Park in Peoria, IL at the Central Illinois Geocachers Assiciation picnic on Sat. June 11, 2011. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and we’ll move the token on for others to enjoy.

  13. Jake Snider "NKLNDYM"

    Ended up grabbing this coin at catnarounds cache in cache out event yesterday july 23rd.. ^^^ Donna was there so she must of dropped it off for someone else to take and move along. What a neat idea making up your own coin and having people log it this way.. Ill be sure to pass it on soon for ya. Nice blog btw, ill have to bookmark this site as well.

  14. Your coins look fantasic. How did you make these? What material and what was the process. Looks like fun alternative to having an actual minted coin made which of course is pricey. Very nice job!

  15. chantel phelps

    Can you please send me a link on how you made them? I can’t find it. great idea!

Leave a Reply

